General presentation

Luis Britto Garcia was born in Caracas, Venezuela, in 1940. He is a man of letters, playwright, historian and essayist. He obtained a Doctorate in Law from Venezuela Central University in 1969 and a degree in Latin-American Studies from the École Pratique des Hautes Etudes in Paris in 1982.  He started winning awards early on in his career, including the Premio Nacional de Cuento, a distinction for short-story writers at national level, has twice won the Casa de las Americas Prize – in 1970 for his collection of stories Rajatabla and in 1980 for Abrapalabra – and won Venezuela’s National Prize for Literature in 2002. He is the author of three other short-story collections, a number of plays and a historical novel, and is also widely recognised by researchers of Latin-American Literature and the History of Political Ideas. His many essays have become essential reading for Venezuelan students. The author also contributes to a range of scientific and historical reviews; and has written much in the press. Luis is renowned for his historical analyses, poetic vision of reality, humour, and castigation of humankind’s failings over the centuries. His recent articles include América Latina y el Caribe ya no es el patio trasero de nadie and Emancipación y revolución mundial. In May 2012, he was appointed Counsellor to the Presidency by President Hugo Chavez, at the Venezuelan Council of State.

Select bibliography


  • Dictadura mediática en Venezuela. Colección Tilde, Correo del Orinoco, 2012
  • El pensamiento del Libertador. Banco Central de Venezuela, 2010
  • Socialismo del Tercer Milenio. Monte Ávila, 2008
  • Arca. Editorial Planeta Venezolana, 2007
  • Paré de sufrir. 2006
  • Andanada. Thule Ediciones , 2005
  • Pirata. Alfaguara, 1998
  • Me río del mundo. Planeta, 1984
  • La Orgia imaginaria o Libro de utopies. Monte Ávila, 1983
  • Rajatabla. Biblioteca Basica - Editores Latinoamericana, 1970 (Tout-doit-disparaître. Translated by Denise Delprat, Monte Avila, 2010)
  • Abrapalabra. Casa de las Américas, 1979


Prizes and distinctions

2006: Venezuela National Prize for Literature, for Andanada

1980: Casa de Las Américas Prize for Abrapalabra

1970: Casa de Las Américas Prize for Rajabalata

@La Médiathèque Caraïbe

joomla template