Présentation générale:

Lawrence Scott is of French Creole and German descent, and was born on a sugarcane plantation in Trinidad in 1943. He attended primary school on his native island before continuing his education in England as a teenager. Novelist, short-story writer and poet, he divides his life between England and Trinidad, and spent a good part of his career (from 1973 to 2006) teaching literature, creative writing and the dramatic arts in the two countries. To date, he has written four novels and a collection of short stories, and his research work resulted in the publication of Golconda: Our Voices Our Lives (UTT Press, 2009), the fruit of a project on Trinidad’s oral tradition. He is also the author of numerous poems that have appeared in magazines (Caribbean New Voices 1, Trinidad & Tobago Review, etc.) and anthologies, as well as of essays and critical articles on Caribbean writers. His short stories have been anthologised internationally, including in The Penguin Book of Caribbean Short Stories, The Oxford Book of Caribbean Short Stories and Our Caribbean, A Gathering of Lesbian & Gay Writing from the Antilles, and some of them have been read on BBC radio. In 2004, Lawrence Scott was writer-in-residence at the University of the West Indies. His latest novel, Light Falling On Bamboo, is based on the life of the famous 19th-century Trinidadian painter Michel Cazabon.

Select bibliography

  • Light Falling On Bamboo. Tindal Street Press, 2012.
  • Night Calypso. Allison & Busby, 2004 – Translated into French in 2005: Calypso de Nuit.
  • Aelred's Sin. Allison & Busby, 1998.
  • Witchbroom. Allison & Busby, 1992; Heinemann, 1993.
  • Ballad for the New World (short stories). Heinemann, 1994.

Prizes and distinctions

1993: Witchbroom nominated for the Commonwealth Writers' “Best First Book” Prize.

1999: Aelred's Sin - winner of the Commonwealth Writers' “Best Book in Canada & the Caribbean” Prize.

2005: Night Calypso (Allison & Busby, 2004) nominated for the Commonwealth Writers' “Best Book in Canada & the Caribbean” Prize.

1986: Winner of the Tom-Gallon Short-Story Award for "The House of Funerals" from his collection Ballad for the New World.

@La Médiathèque Caraïbe

joomla template